4 Types Of Skiing Slopes – Ski Run Colors Explained

If you are new to skiing and trying to figure out different aspects included in it, then you should definitely know about different types of skiing slopes. The thing is, skiing slopes play a very crucial role for any skier. The slopes are what describes your skiing level and how good you can ski. But do note that it is not really easy to ski at all skiing slopes. There are many dangers included in it, and that is why all the levels are not recommended for beginners.

But of course, it is a good idea to know about the different types of skiing slopes. In this article, I will be going to define all the skiing slopes so that you can evaluate which one would really be best for you.

4 Different Types Of Skiing Slopes – Ski Run Colors

These are the four different types of skiing slopes that you will have to vary on. So take a look at them and make sure to consider them on your next ski ride. Before we move on, do remember that the slope types mentioned below are according to the American standards and not the European standards.

Types Of Skiing Slopes

1. Green Circle (The beginners level)

Green circles are the easiest slopes you would find anywhere in the world. These slopes are so easy to ski on that even a first-time skier would find it easy to ski on. If we talk about how steep the green circle can be, then the range varies between 0-14 degrees. Yes, the slope might even be flat so that you can experience how it is to ski and how gradually the snow pulls you.

Who should ski on the Green Circle?

If we talk about who should opt for the green circles, then the ones who are skiing for the first time or the ones who are beginners should go with green circle slopes. This type will help you learn the physics and mechanics of skiing and will help you balance while you ski. Not only that, but if you don’t want to risk falling off right at the start, you can take off with the green circle slopes. 

2. Blue Square (The intermediate level)

The blue square is the most popular slope level worldwide due to the difficulty level it offers. The thing is, Blue Square is neither very flat nor too steep to create consequences for you. You can just enjoy the actual meaning of skiing with the blue square slope without going below or above the level. If we take a look at the steep level of the blue square slopes, then these types of slopes are between 14 to 22 degrees. This means that right after the beginner’s level, you fall off within this category to keep your skiing journey going.

Who should ski on the Blue Square?

Yes, you might now be thinking if the blue square slope is good for you or you should go below or above it. Well, the blue square slopes can be suitable for the ones who ski only once a year. But do remember that you must have a little experience of skiing effectively on the blue square. If not, you might injure yourself while finding the thrills. So it is better to take precautions rather than being hasty. 

3. Black Diamond (The experienced level)

This is where things start getting messy and quite difficult. Yes, black diamond slopes can be quite difficult for the skiers to go with, and that is why they are considered only for the experienced ones. Black diamond slopes are even steeper than the 22-degree mark, and the range goes from 22 to 26. The numbers might seem very small, but never ever trust them. Even a single degree can bring a bigger change and change the whole scenario for the skier.

Who should ski on the Black Diamond?

Never ever think of skiing on the black diamond slopes if you are not experienced enough. It would probably be a suitable idea to ski for multiple years and then start your journey off with the black diamond. Or, if you are a ski enthusiast and buy weekly or season lift tickets, you can try black diamond skiing after getting yourself familiar with the previous levels.

Weekly or seasonal passes allow the skiers to ski for longer-term and explore different options within the same period. So yes, you should have gotten your answer by now.

4. Double Black Diamond (The Professional and the Dangerous Level)

The last stage of skiing slopes is the double black diamond level, which is unquestionably very difficult. The name also suggests that the difficulty level is doubled than the previous one and can also be dangerous. The double black diamond’s slope degree is above the 26 marks, and that is what makes it difficult. It might even feel like you are going straight into the air without having anything underneath your feet. 

Who should ski on the Double Black Diamond?

If you have skied on a professional level in your life, only then should you ski on the double black diamond level. It is undoubtedly the most dangerous one and requires years of practice to get hold of. So it is better not to risk your life just to try things out and consider your skills beforehand. If you really and actually want to try it out, practice the previous levels first and then aim for this one.

Do types of skiing slopes vary from continent to continent?

Yes, the types of skiing slopes vary from continent to continent. The ones we have discussed above are for the American continent, and there are different types for Europe, Asia, or New Zealand.

But the thing is, some countries have divided the types into more parts to make things easier. And that is why you might find more names or types within those countries. If you want to keep things in line, you can just get yourself familiar with the American types.


So these are the different types of skiing slopes you will encounter in your skiing journey. Now consider your ski level and see which type of slope is best for you. And yes, do not try to be overconfident, or else the consequences will be waiting for you down on your path.

Mitchelle Lynn